, , , , , ,

A Brief Overview of Indian Political Map 2023

India, a country in South Asia, is known for its rich cultural heritage, diverse landscapes, and bustling cities. With over 1.3 billion people, it is the second most populous country in the world. The political map of India plays a crucial role in understanding the country’s administrative divisions and its vast geographical expanse. In this article, we will take a closer look at the Indian political map, including its states, union territories, and state capitals.

States and Union Territories

India is divided into 29 states and seven union territories, each with its own unique culture, history, and administrative structure. The states are further divided into districts, which are then divided into smaller administrative units called talukas or tehsils. The union territories, on the other hand, are directly governed by the central government.



The following table lists all the states in India along with their respective capitals:

Andhra PradeshAmaravati
Arunachal PradeshItanagar
Himachal PradeshShimla
Jammu and KashmirSrinagar (Summer), Jammu (Winter)
Madhya PradeshBhopal
Tamil NaduChennai
Uttar PradeshLucknow
West BengalKolkata

Union Territories

The following table lists all the union territories in India along with their respective capitals:

Union TerritoryCapital
Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort Blair
Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and DiuDaman
DelhiNew Delhi
Jammu and KashmirSrinagar (Summer), Jammu (Winter)

State Capitals

Each state in India has its own capital, which serves as the administrative center of the state. The state capitals are not only important from an administrative perspective but also hold significant historical and cultural significance. Let’s take a closer look at some of the state capitals in India.

New Delhi

New Delhi, the capital of India, is a bustling metropolis that serves as the seat of the central government. It is located in the northern part of the country and is a union territory. The city is known for its iconic landmarks such as the India Gate, Red Fort, and Qutub Minar. It is also home to numerous government buildings, including the Parliament House and the Rashtrapati Bhavan (President’s residence).


Mumbai, the capital of Maharashtra, is the financial and entertainment capital of India. It is located on the western coast of the country and is known for its vibrant nightlife, bustling markets, and iconic landmarks such as the Gateway of India and Marine Drive. Mumbai is also home to the Bollywood film industry, making it a popular tourist destination for both domestic and international travelers.


Bengaluru, the capital of Karnataka, is known as the “Silicon Valley of India” due to its thriving IT industry. It is located in the southern part of the country and is known for its pleasant climate, beautiful gardens, and rich cultural heritage. The city is also home to numerous educational institutions, making it a hub for students from all over the country.

Indian Political Map

The Indian political map shows the boundaries of each state and union territory, along with their respective capitals. It also includes major cities, rivers, and other geographical features. The map is an essential tool for understanding the administrative divisions of the country and is widely used in schools, government offices, and other institutions.

As seen in the map, India shares its borders with several neighboring countries, including Pakistan, China, Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh, and Myanmar. The country’s coastline measures 7,517 kilometers in length, out of which 5,423 kilometers belong to the peninsular India, and the remaining 2,094 kilometers belong to the Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Lakshadweep islands. The Indian naval hydrographical charts show that the mainland coastline comprises of 43% sandy beaches, 46% mudflats or marshy shores, and 11% rocky shores.


In conclusion, the Indian political map is a crucial tool for understanding the country’s administrative divisions and its vast geographical expanse. With 29 states and seven union territories, India is a diverse and dynamic country that continues to grow and evolve. We hope this brief overview of the Indian political map has given you a better understanding of this beautiful country and its rich cultural heritage.


0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *